Federal and Regional Climate Change Policy and Legislation in the United States

The Regional Greenhouse Gas Initiative is a regional cooperative established in 2003 by states and provinces in the Northeastern United States and Canada to reduce GHG emissions. Current member are the US states of Connecticut, Delaware, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Rhode Island, and Vermont, and the Canadian provinces of Newfoundland and
Labrador and Prince Edward Island. Observers include Pennsylvania, the District of Columbia, Quebec, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, and Ontario.

RGGI has created the first mandatory, market based CO2 emissions reduction program in the United States to reduce GHG emissions. To date, the above listed members have capped CO2 emissions from the power sector, and will reduce these emissions 10% by 2018.

Want to learn more? Download our white paper

Find out more on Federal and Regional Climate Policy in the US.

Keep in touch
Privacy Policy(Required)

Reading Time: 1 Minutes

Date Published: July 7, 2010



The Regional Greenhouse Gas Initiative […]


Go to Top